News

New activities
see under events.

Last Modified

  • Monday, 06. March 2017

 

 
The LIMESEUM, which opened its doors in 2012, was the first new Limes museum built in Bavaria since the Limes was recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2005. Designed by the Munich architecture firm Karl + Probst, the round construction is optimally integrated in its natural environment. The wood and glass facade provides visitors with a constant visual connection between the themes and objects of the exhibits and the adjacent World Heritage property itself. This experience peaks with the view from the panorama window onto the fort in the Roman Park. The perspective enables us to understand the dimensions and layout of this archaeological monument.

The permanent exhibit in the LIMESEUM is a modern display of the portion of the Limes between Mönchsroth and Arberg, with a focus on Ruffenhofen. The concentration here is on a portrayal of life at the Limes as well as the topics of wood preservation, the military, and the daily life of civilians.

The soldier December, whose name has been found in sources from the Ruffenhofen fort, accompanies visitors throughout the museum with tales about his life in exhibits, audio stations, and a film. Children can experience day-to-day life at the Limes first hand at our activity stations.

The small café provides visitors with an area to relax. The multipurpose room can also be rented for lectures and external events in the evening (via contact).

limeseum-plan1

Legend
1 Museum Café
2 entrance area
3 Use of quotations for Limes
4 Typical Rome!
5 A limit for Rome
6 Soldiers for Rome
7 Museum Cinema
8 Life in the vicus
9 Special exhibition area with panoramic window 

 

 

 

Facebook

Das Neueste

- Termine

Letzte Änderung

  • Freitag, 12. August 2016

 

Das 2012 eröffnete LIMESEUM ist der erste Museumsneubau in Bayern seit der Ernennung des Limes zum UNESCO-Welterbe im Jahr 2005 und ist für den Europäischen Museumspreis 2015 nominiert! Von dem Münchner Architekturbüro Karl + Probst entworfen, fügt sich das runde Gebäude bestens in die umliegende Landschaft ein. Die durch Glas und Holz geprägte Fassade erlaubt es dem Besucher zu jeder Zeit, die Verbindung zwischen den in der Ausstellung präsentierten Themen und Objekten einerseits und dem umliegenden Welterbe andererseits herzustellen. Die Verbindung findet mit dem Blick aus dem Panoramafenster zum Kastell im Römerpark ihren Höhepunkt. Nicht zuletzt wird dadurch die Denkmalfläche vor Ort deutlich aufgewertet.

Die Dauerausstellung im LIMESEUM veranschaulicht auf moderne Weise den Limesabschnitt zwischen Mönchsroth und Arberg mit dem Schwerpunkt Ruffenhofen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen hier das damalige Leben am Welterbe Limes sowie die Themen Holzerhaltung, Militär und ziviler Alltag.

Der Soldat December, der namentlich aus dem Kastell Ruffenhofen überliefert ist, berichtet in Exponaten, Hörstationen und einem Film aus seinem Leben und begleitet den Besucher durch die Ausstellung. Erlebnisstationen für Kinder runden das Konzept ab.

Das kleine Café bietet den Besuchern einen Ort zum Innehalten. Für Vorträge und externe Veranstaltungen am Abend kann der Mehrzweckraum (über Kontaktformular) angemietet werden.

 

limeseum-plan1

 

 

 Legende
1  Museumscafé
2  Eingangsbereich
3  Aufgang mit Zitaten zum Limes
4  Typisch Rom!
5  Eine Grenze für Rom
6  Soldaten für Rom
7  Museumskino
8  Das Leben im vicus
9  Sonderausstellungsfläche mit Panoramafenster

 

 

 

Facebook